Cruisin’ | Emily x Hannah

Sometimes you just have to spend some time with a piece before you know what to do with it. Such was the case with this awesomely colorful poncho I swapped with Hannah. She sent it to me a few weeks ago, and it took me a while to get a good vision of how to style this unique and distinctive piece. But I love a good challenge!

IMG_4120

I jumped at the chance to swap this poncho because I have literally never worn a poncho until now. How did I make it to the ripe old age of 30-noneofyourbusiness without wearing a poncho? Well, it just happened that way. So I had to give it a whirl.

IMG_4111

I realize this may seem like an odd choice for the beginning of summer, but let me tell you, upstate New York is tricky like that. You’ll be sweating it out in 90-degree heat one day, and the next day, bam! Low of 42. So you’ve got to be prepared for anything. This was actually a genius way to chase away the morning and evening chill, but it was easy to throw off when the day warmed up.

IMG_4121

I can’t pinpoint my exact inspiration for this outfit, but when I put it all together, I had the general feeling of “Someone’s Grandma going on a cruise.” Which, you know, I’m OK with that! I wrote a couple of blog posts about being inspired by the different styles of my two grandmothers. So, #grandmastyle4life, I say.

IMG_4116

Note that I am being a total rebel here and mixing my gold sparkly nail polish with silver sparkly earrings. What can I say, I like to live on the edge.

IMG_4117

IMG_4112

Thanks to Hannah for letting me tick “wear a poncho” off my life list! This was super comfy and fun to wear.

e

how-they-wore

poncho_collage

One thought on “Cruisin’ | Emily x Hannah

  1. I’ve never thought of a poncho as an option for summer but you are changing my mind. I could totally picture this outfit at a late night bonfire or drive-in movie! You done good with my poncho, Emily. :)

    Hannah | The Outfit Repeater

    Like

Comments are closed.