Emily | Red cape + checked trousers

Sometimes all it takes is a fresh set of eyes to help you see something in a new way.

IMG_2557

I bought this red cape a few years back at my local Salvation Army because — well, it’s a vintage cape, do I really need a reason? But then … it sat in my closet. And sat. And sat.

IMG_2555

IMG_2556

But after offering it up for swap in this group, I’ve found myself much more inspired to wear this piece. Kristina wore it beautifully over full skirts with heels, and then Noelle looked super chic and crisp in a plaid top and gray straight skirt.

IMG_2559

IMG_2558

IMG_2561

When I was reunited with my cape, I paired it with a vintage Op Art top (which my grandmother sewed for my aunt in the 1970s), a pair of checked skinny trousers and my trusty black heels for a look that felt both straightforward and distinctive. And if there was ever any doubt in my mind about whether capes are easy to wear, it’s gone now! All these looks have proven otherwise.

IMG_2562

How they wore it

capecollage

Red cape, I’m sorry I let you sit in the closet for so long. I promise I’ll bring you out to play more often. Thanks to Kristina and Noelle for inspiring me to stop neglecting this fabulous garment!

Emily Signature

 

2 thoughts on “Emily | Red cape + checked trousers

  1. This cape has really gotten around! I have a love-hate relationship for capes and ponchos too. I want to own them all because they’re so pretty and unique but then I clam up when it comes time to actually style them. Loving all this inspiration! I may have to try this piece next fall. :)

    Hannah | The Outfit Repeater

    Like

Tell us your thoughts!

