Retro Nerdy | Kristina x Hannah

Retro Nerdy | www.eccentricowl.comRetro Nerdy | www.eccentricowl.com

On my and my husband’s first date, he told me that he had, in all seriousness, said to his brother he would never date another girl unless she loved Lord of the Rings. His brother’s response was “Ha! Yeah, right, good luck with that!” because none of the girls they know really like anything nerdy. But me? Well, I own Arwen’s necklace and several editions of the books (I collect all the different covers). And let’s just say Aragorn is basically the second person on my list that I’d ever leave my husband for* (the first one being Mr. Rochester). He’s lucky that neither of these people are real.

In a way, you could say that it was Lord of the Rings that brought us together. It was one of the first things we discussed in our Facebook messages before we dated – before I knew he liked me, because I am completely clueless sometimes – and it is one of the things that continues to be a recurring thing in our relationship. We are most recently working on a project related to the books that I’m not sure I can reveal yet, but that I am extremely excited for!

*I mean, not really, but… well…

Retro Nerdy | www.eccentricowl.com

So when I went to style this shirt that glows in the dark you guys what with this pretty teal skirt from Hannah, it was all I could do not to wear every single Lord of the Rings clothing or accessory item I had. Instead, I chose to just add in the One Ring that Hilary got for me, even though I sorely wanted to find a way to include my leaf hobbit brooch and Arwen’s necklace and maybe also carry a few copies of my LOTR collection while being wrapped up in the Map of Middle Earth blanket we have.

… but uh… less is more, as they say.

Retro Nerdy | www.eccentricowl.comRetro Nerdy | www.eccentricowl.com

I realized after I styled this skirt that I have a really similar one – nearly the same color, only longer and with big fat belt loops. So I think once I send Hannah’s skirt back to her, I may just have to style my own teal skirt a few more ways!

Retro Nerdy | www.eccentricowl.com  Retro Nerdy | www.eccentricowl.comRetro Nerdy | www.eccentricowl.com

Thanks for letting me borrow your awesome skirt, Hannah!

Happy Monday!PicMonkey Collagewww.eccentricowl.com

One thought on “Retro Nerdy | Kristina x Hannah

Comments are closed.