Star Wars and Capes | Kristina x Emily

Star Wars and Capes | Shaped By StyleStar Wars and Capes | Shaped By Style

I know I just wore this cape for Shaped by Style, but… #sorrynotsorry, you guys. Because I couldn’t resist wearing it to debut my Star Wars skirt. It is the perfect accessory! I made this skirt to go see The Force Awakens on Friday (no spoilers, just… it was so good!), and was literally down to the last second in finishing it up. I’m kind of a last-minute person when it comes to making things. Gifts, clothes for myself, etc; I had this fabric for at least a month before we even bought tickets for the movie, but I finished the last seam 40 minutes before we had to leave. Not even kidding.

And uh… I’m only just today starting on making Christmas gifts for people.

Yeah. It’s a problem.

Star Wars and Capes | Shaped By Style Star Wars and Capes | Shaped By StyleStar Wars and Capes | Shaped By Style

I made this skirt to wear with the petticoats that I own — which are massive and too short for my normal knee-length skirts — but that wasn’t the original plan. I don’t use patterns, so, being the frugal person that I am, I tentatively told the woman at Joann’s to give me 2-1/2 yards of this fabric and I hoped it would be enough to make a circle skirt as I’ve made before. But when I got home, I was about 1/2 a yard short of how much I needed for the length I wanted. So instead of a knee-length skirt, I decided to model this one after the skirt I wear with my petticoats (it used to be the only one I had that worked with those!) and here we are!

Star Wars and Capes | Shaped By StyleStar Wars and Capes | Shaped By Style

I am really happy with how it turned out! It’s a wrap skirt right now, and I might leave it that way — I didn’t want to bother with figuring out the very last seam that connects to the skirt together (in order to not have to do an elastic waistband, I have to make a slit in the side that doesn’t close, so the fabric has to overlap to hide the opening, which means I have to angle my seams and… I don’t exactly know how to explain it all, so…) and it’s a big enough of an overlap that I don’t have to worry about the flap flying away in the wind and exposing everything underneath.

Star Wars and Capes | Shaped By Style

Skirt, self-made | cape, Emily’s | shoes and shirt, thrifted | earrings, Rocksbox | tights, Target

I was so happy with how this turned out that I finished my Christmas skirt early! And by early, I mean I finished it on Saturday. So, you know, six days before Christmas. So, so early. ;)

I hope you’re all having a great holiday season!

how-they-worePicMonkey Collagewww.eccentricowl.com

2 thoughts on “Star Wars and Capes | Kristina x Emily

  1. Cheers to you for such an amazing outfit. If you have a cape in your possession, how can you not wear said cape to a Star Wars movie? Especially a gorgeous red cape that pairs so perfectly with an adorable star wars skirt. I mean, it all just adds up. It’s practically math.

    Like

Comments are closed.