How We Wore It: Polka Dots

This is part of a series of occasional posts showing how the women of Shaped by Style wore a particular style, trend or look. Today we’re taking on polka dots, a print that’s near and dear to many of our hearts!

Shaped by Style polka dot collage

If we could crown a Queen of Polka Dots, I think it would be a draw between Skye and Kristina, so we’ll start with two looks from them that I really enjoyed:

I love everything about this outfit — the mix of colors, of prints, the hat, the full sleeves of the blouse, the purse, the umbrella as accessory.

See more of Skye’s post here.


I love the way different prints can make a black-and-white outfit look so dynamic and creative! Kristina has featured this oversized-dot tee in a lot of her posts, and it looks terrific here with a gingham pencil skirt and head scarf.

See more of Kristina’s post here.


Doesn’t Hannah look chic in this polka dot romper? Tan + white is such a classic combo. And, I’m dying over the pretty little fascinator she made:

You can see more of Hannah’s post here:


Lyndsey always features such pretty, feminine looks, and this one is no exception. I love how this look perfectly blends modern and retro influences in a way that is truly timeless.

See more of Lyndsey’s post here.


This (somewhat) subtle combination of polka dots and florals was one of my first forays into print-mixing, and as you can tell by my big smile, I was happy with the way it turned out. (Note to self: I should wear this blouse more often!) I love the way pale polka dots can fade into a muted hue at a distance, but pop brightly up close.

You can read more of my post here.

What print, style or look would you like to see us feature in our next “How We Wore It” post? Leave your comment below to let us know!

3 thoughts on “How We Wore It: Polka Dots

Comments are closed.